::: : Institution History

Government Kilpauk Medical College and Hospital

History of its existence

1925   In response to the feeling of Nationalism and keeping alive the ancient systems of indigenous medicine the school of Indian medicine was started. The degree conferred at this institution was L.I.M.

1947   In accordance to the recommendations of the Usman Committee, Chopra Committee and the Pundit Committee of Government of Madras and Government of India, the character of the institute was changed, upgraded and named as College of Indian Medicine. The College gave the degree as G.C.I.M.

1948   The College was again renamed as College of Indigenous Medicine and one of the three systems of Indigenous Medicine, Ayurvedha-Siddha-Unani, should be chosen by each candidate who joins GCIM and Allopathic Medicine was common to all.




The College was renamed as the College of Integrated Medicine. The course was shortened to 4.5 years and one year of compulsory house- surgeoncy on par with MBBS course. Government ensured that the GCIM graduates could practice both the systems of Medicine. In 1959 the lst batch of GCIM students were admitted and in 1960 the College of Indigenous Medicine was closed.



The Integrated Medicine Course (MBBS DEGREE) was started. The first and second year GCIM students were given the option of joining the MBBS course, while the senior students were offered the D.M&S on completion of the course and bringing them into the Allopathic fold.



The College was recognised as Women Medical College and named as Government Kilpauk Medical College, admitting only women candidates for MBBS degree. Meanwhile, those who have completed GCIM, D.M&S were given the option to undertake condensed MBBS course at the Chengalpattu Medical College to obtain the MBBS degree and come into the fold of Modern Medicine.



The women students agitated to have a co- educational institution and the erstwhile Government of Madras granted permission and both men and women were admitted to MBBS degree from 1967.



Development of the Medical College is set into pace with the Surgical Block coming into being. Later all the different super-specialities came into being between 1972 and 2001 and stands in its glory to-day.



Intensive Care Unit was sanctioned with 10 beds and was commissioned in June 1981 by Hon.Dr.H.V.Hande, the Minister for Health, Government of Tamilnadu. 50 beded comprehensive Burn unit was sanctioned on the I floor of the out-Patient Block and was commissioned in March 1985 by Hon.Dr.H.V.Hande, then Minister for Health under the Presidentship of Dr.Mrs.Lalitha Kameswaran, then Director of Medical Education.



Department of Cardiology was sanctioned with Prof.S.Thanikachalam as its Chief.



Department of Nephrology was sanctioned and commissioned in July 1987 with Prof.C.M.Thiagarajan as its Chief.



Department of Surgical Gastroenterology was sanctioned with Prof.Srikumari Damaodharan as its Chief.


Designed & Developed by

This site can be best viewed in 1024x768 screen resolution.